This majestic mansion with unique architecture is often called “Cái Nhà Lớn” (a big house) by locals, built by Mr. Tran Nhue, a famous landlord in the area.

Not only a place to display artifacts, Kien Giang Museum (No. 27 Nguyen Van Troi, Vinh Thanh Van Ward, Rach Gia City, Kien Giang) is also the most beautiful ancient mansion of a feudal landlord in this area that is still preserved to this day.

The house is built by Mr. Tran Nhue. Later, Mr. Tran Quang Chieu (the third son of Mr. Tran Nhue) inherited the house, so the building is also called Mr. Ba Chieu’s house.

Kien Giang Museum

The ancient mansion was started in 1911, inaugurated in 1920 with an area of ​​about 2,000m², including the communal house (3 rooms, 2 wings), kitchen, living room, and Thien Tinh yard.

Kien Giang museum

Built during the colonial period, influenced by French culture, the house has a unique “half-Western, half-Vietnamese” architecture.

The outside of the house is built in the style of a box house decorated with patterns in the architectural style of Westerners, but the inside has the architecture of an ancient Vietnamese house.

Kien Giang museum

The architectural quintessence of the house is concentrated in the main hall, built in a frame structure, made of red wood and rosewood…

Kien Giang Museum

The unique feature of the interior is expressed in the skillful; sophisticated carvings; the strong introverted trend, reaching out to integrate with nature to create a complete whole.

Kien Giang museum

The decorative patterns are very rich, from traditional geometric shapes, flowers (pine, bamboo, chrysanthemum, ochna integerrima), birds (bats, peacocks, phoenixes, pheasants…), fruits (papaya, grapes, pomegranates…), vines to animals (deer, elk…).

Kien Giang museum

The soil for the house foundation is taken from the sea and used stone to make it. Also it took 3 years to complete the foundation.

Kien Giang Museum

The house was built continuously for 10 years with a team of masons and carpenters brought from Gia Dinh; the carvers were all skilled workers brought from the North.

Kien Giang museum

The construction materials such as wood, bricks, and tiles were mainly purchased from the East. The floor tiles were imported from France.

Kien Giang Museum

This mansion has gone through many ups and downs in its 1 century of existence. In 1946, the French colonialists invaded Rach Gia and occupied the mansion. From then until 1954, the building was occupied by the Provincial Court.

Kien Giang museum

In the years 1970-1973, the American advisory group in Rach Gia rented this house to serve as the American Office.

Kien Giang museum

From 1973-1975, the house was rented by a local company in Rach Soi as an office.

Kien Giang museum

After 1975, the house was managed by the State, used by the Kien Giang Provincial Women’s Association as an office for a short time, then handed over to the art troupe of the Department of Culture and Information as its headquarters.

Kien Giang museum

Finally, this beautiful ancient mansion was handed over to the Kien Giang Museum until now.

Source: collected by An

Follow us for the best deal with Vietnam package tours and visa services!